Classification of IC Engine | Internal combustion Engines

In this Article , I have mentioned Classification of IC Engine (Internal combustion engines ) in Details.

Classification of ic engine

Internal combustion engines are engines in which the combustion of a fuel occurs with an oxidizer (usually air) in a combustion chamber that is an integral part of the operating fluid flow circuit.

Within an internal combustion engine, the expansion of high-temperature and high-pressure combustion gases, direct force is applied to any part of the engine.

The force is applied typically to pistons, turbine blades or a nozzle.

Classification of IC Engine (Internal Combustion Engines)

1. According to Type of Ignition ( According To Method of Ignition )

A) SI engine :- A spark-ignition engine (SI engine) is an internal combustion engine, usually a petrol engine, where the combustion cycle of an air-fuel mixture is ignited by a spark plug.

Classification Of IC engine

B) CI Engine :- A CI engine is type of an internal combustion engine in which the fuel charge is ignited by the heat of compression.

Classification Of IC engine

2. Classification of IC Engine (Internal combustion engine ) based on Types of fuel used

A) Petrol Engine :- The petrol engine (British English) or the gasoline engine (American English) is a spark-ignition internal combustion engine designed to run on petrol ( gasoline) and similar volatile fuels.

classification of ic engine

B) Diesel Engine :- The diesel engine (also known as the compression-ignition or CI engine), named after Rudolf Diesel, is an internal combustion engine in which the ignition of the fuel is caused by the high temperature of the air in the cylinder due to mechanical compression (adiabatic compression)

Classification Of IC engine

C) Gas Engine :- The gas engine is an internal combustion engine operating on gaseous fuel, such as coal gas, producer gas, biogas, landfill gas or natural gas.

Classification Of IC engine

D) Dual Fuel Engine :- Dual-fuel engine is a diesel engine designed to operate on both gaseous and liquid fuels.

3. Classification of IC Engine Based on Number of Strokes Per Cycle (According to Cycle of Operation )

A) 2 stroke Engine :- A two-stroke (or two-cycle) engine is a type of internal combustion engine that completes a two-stroke (up and down) power cycle of the piston during a single rotation of the crankshaft.

Classification Of IC engine

B) 4 stroke Engine :- The four-stroke (also four-cycle) engine is an internal combustion (IC) engine in which the piston completes four separate strokes while rotating the crankshaft.

Classification Of IC engine

Also Read : Difference Between 2 stroke and 4 stroke engine

4. Classification of IC Engine based on Type of Cooling System

A) Air Cooling Engine :- Air-cooled engines rely on the passage of air directly over heat dissipation fins or hot areas of the engine to cool them in order to maintain the engine at operating temperatures.

Classification Of IC engine

B) Water Cooling Engine :- When the IC engine is either liquid or water-cooled; it is known as a liquid or water-cooled engine.

Also Read : Learn How Heat Exchangers are used for Cooling

Classification Of IC engine

C) Evaporating Engine :- In the evaporative cooling system, including the coolant jacket of the engine, the condenser, the lower tank connected to the lower portion of the condenser and the conduit means that these parts are linked in order to create a coolant circulation circuit, a variable capacity tank, which is linked to the lower tank, is given for the temporary capture of the residual air in the coolant circulation.

5. Classification of IC Engine According to Thermodynamics Cycle

A) Otto cycle engine :- The Otto cycle is an idealized thermodynamic cycle that describes the operation of a typical spark ignition piston engine.

B) Diesel cycle :- The Diesel Cycle is the combustion process of the internal combustion engine. In it, the fuel is ignited by the heat generated during the compression of the air in the combustion chamber in which the fuel is then injected.

C) Dual cycle :- The dual combustion cycle (also known as the mixed cycle, the Trinkler cycle, the Seiliger cycle or the Sabathe cycle) is a thermal cycle which is a combination of the Otto cycle and the Diesel cycle.

6. Classification of IC Engine Based on Types of Scavenging

A) Cross Scavenging :- In cross scavenging, the incoming air is directed upwards, forcing the exhaust gasses in front of it. Then the exhaust gasses travel down and out of the exhaust ports. The figure above shows the method.

Classification Of IC engine

B) Loop scavenging :- In the loop scavenging, the incoming air moves over the crown of the piston and falls towards the head of the cylinder liner . Exhaust gasses are pushed out of exhaust ports situated just above the inlet ports until the air moves down.

classification of ic engine

C) Uniflow Scavenging :- With uniflow scavenging, the incoming air reaches the lower end of the cylinder liner and leaves at the rim. Ports or a wide valve may be the outlet at the top of the cylinder.

classification of ic engine

7. Classification of IC Engine Based on Cylinder Arrangement

A) Vertical Engine :- The engine in which the piston travels up and down vertically and the crankshaft is usually below the cylinder.

B) Horizontal Engine :- The horizontal engine has cylinders which move horizontally with the ground as opposed to the V-6 or the V-8 engine.

C) Radial Engine :- The radial engine is a reciprocating type of internal combustion engine design in which the cylinders radiate outwards from the central crankcase like the spokes of the wheel.

classification of ic engine

D) V Type Engine :- It is an engine having the cylinders aligned in two banks at an angle to each other, forming a V.

classification of ic engine

E) Opposite Piston Engine :- An anti-piston engine is a piston engine in which each cylinder has a piston at both ends and no cylinder head.

classification of ic engine

8. Classification of IC Engine as Per Valve Position

A) Rotary Valve

B) Overhead Valve

C) Under head Valve

Read More : What is Difference between pressure relief valve and pressure safety valve

9. Classification of IC Engine According to Speed

A) Slow speed engine

B) Medium speed engine

C) High speed engine

10. Classification of IC Engine According to The Application

A) Stationery Engine :- The stationary engine is an engine the structure of which does not move. They are used to power immobile machinery, such as pumps, generators, mills or factory equipment.

B) Automotive Engine :- Those IC Engines used in automobile.

C) Marine Engine :- Those IC Engine specially designed for marine purpose.

D) Aircraft Engine:- Those IC Engines used in aircraft.

E) Locomotive Engine :- A locomotive or engine is a rail transport vehicle that provides the motive power for a train.

FAQ ( Frequently Asked Questions )

How are I.C. engine classified?

 I.C. engine classified according to basis of Method of Ignition, Types of fuel used, to Cycle of Operation, on Type of Cooling System.

In this Article, I have written answers to Classification of IC Engine (Internal combination Engine) Questions arises on this Topic which I have learned from my faculty or from books. Anything I missed ? Please write it down in the comment section and don’t forget to share it, because sharing is caring.

Check Out Other Important Topics

IC EngineImportant PDFsBoilersSynergy Maritime ExamNaval ArchMEO Class 4
Interview QuestionsDifference BetweenTypes of PumpsAuxiliary MachinesTypes of ValvesHome


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *